Personal memories . . .

Mantle clock

Grandma's mantle clock

My sister runs an Etsy shop, selling glassware and other items.  I saw on Facebook that she had posted to the blog she and her Etsy partner write, and found a couple of wonderful entries that brought back memories of our great grandmother.  The blog posts talked about restoring an old hoosier cabinet that had once belonged to “Grandma,” and I immediately felt some of the same feelings my sister Mary (or Janie, to family) described.

As she related memories of this kind and loving woman that are stirred when she looks at the Hoosier, I realized they are some of the same things I think of every time I wind the old mantle clock that once sat in Grandma’s dining room, and now sits in my dining room (coincidentally, on top of a hutch that once belonged to my wife’s grandmother).  When we made our regular visits to Grandma’s house, that clock would mark the time with it’s “tick, tock” and strike every half hour.  To the right, you’ll see a quick snapshot of that old clock.

I sit here now, late at night, listening to that clock ticking away while the rest of the house sleeps.  Maybe one day, my great-grandchildren will listen to the same clock.

About Jim

Conservative, Christian American getting on his political soapbox.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

